SAT accommodations are changes to how you take the test, such as extended time, extra breaks or text-to-speech. College Board approves them for students with documented disabilities. You apply through College Board's Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD), usually with help from your school's SSD coordinator. Approval can take up to seven weeks, so start early.
Practice these skills, free
Practice your weak skills (free)
Question banks: All Digital SAT question banks
Practice needs a free account: one click with Google, and you land straight in your practice tab. You can preview the question banks without an account.
The next deadline is close. For the December 5, 2026 SAT, SSD must receive your request and your documents by October 16, 2026, per College Board's accommodations dates and deadlines page. The regular registration deadline for that test is November 20. Our SAT test dates page lists every 2026-27 test date and registration deadline. Once your plan is set, you can start practice from the Digital SAT practice test catalog.
Ready to practice? Create a free account and take one full-length adaptive SAT section, then keep your own timer at your approved length.
Start 1-day free trial →Who qualifies for SAT accommodations?
You qualify if you have a documented disability that affects how you take a test like the SAT. College Board asks three questions: Can you document the disability? Does it affect exam participation? Do you receive the accommodation for tests at school?
- An IEP or 504 plan is not automatic approval. College Board says students with a formal plan "will still need to request accommodations." It also says most students who get accommodations at school and request them are approved.
- School needs and test needs can differ. College Board's example: a student who needs help walking in the hallways will not need that help on the SAT.
- A broken arm usually means a new date. For temporary conditions such as sprains, broken bones or surgery, College Board says most students should reschedule after they heal. Injured high school seniors are one group that may get temporary support.
What accommodations can you get on the SAT?
Students approved for extended time or extra breaks take the SAT at a regular test center. A few accommodations are "school-based," which means you test at your own school instead. Without accommodations, the SAT is 2 hours and 14 minutes of testing: 64 minutes of Reading and Writing and 70 minutes of Math.
| Accommodation | What you get on the digital SAT | Where you test |
|---|---|---|
| Time and one-half (+50%) | 96 min Reading and Writing, 106 min Math: 3 hours 22 minutes of testing, plus breaks | Test center, one day |
| Double time (+100%) | 128 min Reading and Writing, 140 min Math: 4 hours 28 minutes of testing, plus breaks | Test center, one day |
| Extra breaks | An extra 5-minute break between Module 1 and Module 2 in each section | Test center |
| Extended breaks | Twice the regular break time | Test center |
| Breaks as needed | A pause button under the timer | Test center |
| Text-to-Speech (Embedded) | Bluebook reads the text aloud; you bring wired headphones | Any test center starting fall 2026 |
| Dictation, screen reader, one-to-one room | Your own speech-to-text or screen reader software, or a room by yourself | Your school |
The times come from College Board's extended time page and its Using Accommodations chart. College Board's SAT accommodations page rounds time and one-half to 3 hours 21 minutes. The section minutes add up to 3 hours 22.
College Board still lists a four-function calculator accommodation, but on the digital SAT you don't need it. Every student gets the built-in calculator on every SAT section. Zoom, color contrast and a line reader are open to everyone too. Students with extended time now get one more choice: once standard time has passed, a Next button lets you move on. You do not have to sit through all your extra minutes.
How do you apply for SAT accommodations?
Most families apply through the school, which College Board calls "easier and more efficient." Here are the steps from College Board's requesting through the school page:
- Tell your school's SSD coordinator that you need accommodations.
- A parent or guardian signs the Parent Consent Form. If you are over 18, you sign it.
- The coordinator opens a request in SSD Online. Families cannot use SSD Online.
- If SSD Online asks for documents, the coordinator checks them against College Board's guidelines and uploads them.
- SSD emails you the decision. If you are approved, your letter includes an eligibility code. You need that code to register for the SAT with accommodations.
Homeschooled students, and families who do not want to involve the school, can apply without the school. You print the Student Eligibility Form and mail or fax it with your documents. On this path, documents are always required. Homeschoolers enter 970000 as the high school code.
See which question types are costing you points
Start with a free mock, free drills, or preview sample questions before using all 45 question banks.
What documents does College Board look for?
College Board lists seven basic criteria. Your paperwork should state the diagnosis clearly and be current (generally within the past 5 years). It should cover your educational, developmental and medical history. It should support the diagnosis, describe your functional limitation and justify each accommodation you ask for. And it should list the evaluator's professional credentials.
When should you apply for SAT accommodations?
Start well before the SSD deadline for your test, because approval can take up to seven weeks. College Board says a school-verified request can take as little as five days, but a request sent without the school can take up to seven weeks. If SSD asks for more documents, the clock can restart with another seven weeks. For an October SAT, College Board suggests requesting in the spring of the year before.
| SAT test date | SSD must receive request and documents by | Regular registration deadline |
|---|---|---|
| December 5, 2026 | October 16, 2026 | November 20, 2026 |
| March 6, 2027 | January 15, 2027 | February 19, 2027 |
| May 1, 2027 | March 12, 2027 | April 16, 2027 |
| June 5, 2027 | April 16, 2027 | May 21, 2027 |
Sources: SSD deadlines and SAT dates and deadlines. The SSD deadline for the November 7, 2026 SAT (September 18) has passed. College Board has not posted SSD deadlines for fall 2027 yet. Our guides to the December 2026 SAT and 2027 SAT test dates have the full calendars.
If you miss the SSD deadline, submit anyway. College Board warns that accommodations approved less than 14 days before test day may not be ready, but any approval carries over to your next test.
What if the registration deadline comes before approval?
Register as a standard test taker. That is College Board's own advice on its registering with accommodations page. If your accommodations are approved later, contact SSD and ask them to add them to your registration. If you are not approved by 5 days before the test, think about moving to a later date. Our guide to the SAT registration deadline covers late registration and what it costs.
Check your admission ticket in Bluebook before test day. If your accommodations are missing, call SSD at (866) 630-9305 right away. Accommodations cannot be added, changed or waived on test day.
Do you need to reapply for SAT accommodations for every test?
No, in almost every case. College Board says approved accommodations stay in effect until one year after high school graduation, unless it hears that you no longer need them. You only reapply if you want different accommodations. Ask your SSD coordinator to confirm before each SAT, especially after a school change. For test-day packing, including the wired headphones that text-to-speech students need, see what to bring to the SAT.
Do colleges see that you used SAT accommodations?
No. College Board's Fall 2026 Accommodations and Supports Handbook says students who use accommodations "receive college and scholarship reportable scores." It adds: "The use of accommodations is not reported to colleges or other organizations."
How should you practice if you have accommodations?
Practice with the time you were approved for, not standard time. College Board's practice page points students to the practice tests in Bluebook. For practice beyond those tests:
- Drill by topic first. The June 2026 Reading and Writing Question Bank is free with a free account. The SAT Question Bank hub groups the English and Math banks by test month. The newest are the October 2026 Reading and Writing bank and the October 2026 Math bank.
- Then take a timed section. A free account includes one full-length adaptive SAT section with a Module 1 to Module 2 route. Our adaptive sections run on standard timing: 27 questions in 32 minutes per Reading and Writing module, and 22 questions in 35 minutes per Math module. If you have extended time, keep your own timer set to your approved section length.
- Plan backward from your date. The free SAT study plan generator builds a week-by-week plan. If you are still picking a test date, read when you should take the SAT.
How we built this page
We read College Board's accommodations site (accommodations.collegeboard.org), its Fall 2026 Accommodations and Supports Handbook, and the SAT Suite pages on registering and using accommodations and on test dates. We quoted rules and dates from those pages only. TTA's adaptive section timing comes from our own test database. All facts verified 2026-10-13.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who qualifies for SAT accommodations?
Students with a documented disability that affects how they take the test. College Board asks whether the disability is documented, whether it affects exam participation and whether the student gets the accommodation for school tests. An IEP or 504 plan does not bring automatic approval; you still have to request accommodations.
How do you apply for SAT accommodations?
Most families apply through the school. A parent signs the consent form, the school's SSD coordinator opens a request in SSD Online and uploads any documents, and SSD emails the decision. Homeschooled students can mail or fax the Student Eligibility Form with documents instead.
When should you apply for SAT accommodations?
Well before the SSD deadline, because approval can take up to seven weeks. SSD must receive the request and documents by October 16, 2026 for the December 5 SAT, January 15, 2027 for March 6, March 12 for May 1 and April 16 for June 5.
Do you need to reapply for SAT accommodations for every test?
Almost never. College Board says approved accommodations stay in effect until one year after high school graduation, unless it learns you no longer need them. You reapply only if you want different accommodations.
Do colleges see that you used SAT accommodations?
No. College Board's Fall 2026 Accommodations and Supports Handbook says students who test with accommodations receive college and scholarship reportable scores, and the use of accommodations is not reported to colleges or other organizations.
Related Concepts
Sources and Citation Targets
- College Board SSD: Know Your Dates and Deadlines
- College Board SSD: Who Is Eligible
- College Board SSD Help: School accommodations on College Board exams
- College Board SSD: Temporary Medical Conditions
- College Board SSD: Extended Time
- College Board SAT Suite: Using Accommodations
- College Board SSD: Taking the SAT with Accommodations
- College Board SSD: Requesting Through the School