The 1550 Formula (written "The 1550+ Formula" on its page) is a paid SAT prep community on Skool, run by James Lu. On October 13, 2026, it cost $99 a month. The page lists weekly 1:1 time with James, 18 practice tests, AI-driven drills, 24/7 community help and a 14-day full refund.
Practice these skills, free
Practice your weak skills (free)
Question banks: All Digital SAT question banks
Practice needs a free account: one click with Google, and you land straight in your practice tab. You can preview the question banks without an account.
Its page says it is for students who want to break into the 1500s and want a coach and a group. If you need a large set of real-test practice questions, compare it with our SAT question bank hub first. Every fact below comes from each company's own pages, read on October 13, 2026.
What is the 1550 Formula?
Try before you pay for any course. A free account includes one full-length adaptive SAT test with a likely score range. No card needed.
Start 1-day free trial →The 1550 Formula is a private community on Skool, a platform for paid online groups. Its Skool page calls it "The fastest path for serious students to get a 1550 or higher SAT score." It names James Lu as the owner.
The page says members "get instant access to" these items:
- "The full SAT prep formula that takes you from 'stuck' to 1550+"
- "1:1 time with James every week"
- "18 high-quality practice tests (accommodations available)"
- "Unique AI-driven drills that work"
- "24/7 help in the community"
The page's own data lists 11 courses and 293 modules inside the group. The visible page showed "1.1k members," 1 admin and a 5.0 rating from 48 reviews.
James also runs a free Skool group, SAT Prep, described as "Learn SAT Desmos and Grammar." It showed 33.9k members. Its page lists "A full-length practice test" and "Timed walkthroughs of James doing the Bluebook tests for the first time."
How much does the 1550 Formula cost?
The Skool page showed "$99 /month" and a "JOIN $99/month" button. It also said "Try it 100% risk-free for 14 days," with a "full refund if you're not blown away."
The page did not list a yearly price in its visible text. It also said, "This is the lowest price this group will ever be." Check the price at checkout before you join.
For comparison, The Test Advantage lists Premium at $39.99 a month or $250 a year on its pricing page. Its free account costs nothing.
Who is the 1550 Formula for?
See which question types are costing you points
Start with a free mock, free drills, or preview sample questions before using all 45 question banks.
The page names three groups: "Students stuck in a plateau and want to break into the 1500s," "Parents tired of wasting money on generic tutoring that doesn't work," and "High achievers looking to get into top colleges."
Use weekly coaching time to find your last few repeat mistakes. If you are scoring near 1000 or 1100, start with basic practice on each skill first. Our guide on how to get a 1500 on the SAT shows what each score step takes.
Is the 1550 Formula worth it?
It can be, if you will use the weekly 1:1 time. For context, our page on how much SAT tutoring costs compares live help prices.
Ask three questions before you pay:
- How much 1:1 time do you get? The page says "1:1 time with James every week" but does not give a length. The group also shows 1 admin for 1.1k members. Ask how the weekly time works before you join.
- What are the 18 practice tests? The page does not say whether they are adaptive or who writes them. The real SAT is adaptive: your Module 2 gets harder or easier based on Module 1, per College Board.
- Can you use the refund window? The 14-day refund gives you two weeks to test it. Plan to try the 1:1 time and a practice test inside those 14 days.
Reviews on the Skool page report big score gains. We could not check those claims against score reports, so treat them as member stories.
The 1550+ Formula vs The Test Advantage: side by side
| Feature | The 1550+ Formula | The Test Advantage |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Paid Skool community with courses | Practice website with question banks and adaptive tests |
| Price | $99 a month | $39.99 a month or $250 a year |
| Free option | Free SAT Prep group: Desmos and grammar lessons, 1 full-length practice test | Free account: 1 adaptive test, a 230-question Reading and Writing bank, Targeted Practice |
| Live help | "1:1 time with James every week" | Not listed in Premium; Mr. O AI tutor messages |
| Practice tests | 18 practice tests (format not stated) | 34 adaptive section tests: 16 Math and 18 Reading and Writing |
| Question practice | "AI-driven drills" (count not stated) | 43 question banks by SAT test month, 2023 to 2026 |
| Lessons | 11 courses, 293 modules (from the page's data) | Video explanations by Mr. O and Maya |
| Refund or cancel | 14-day full refund | Cancel online; keep Premium to the end of the paid period |
Sources: The 1550+ Formula's Skool page, James Lu's free group page, and The Test Advantage's pricing page and database, all checked October 13, 2026.
What is the main difference?
The main difference is the kind of help. The 1550+ Formula sells a coach and a group: weekly time with James and "24/7 help in the community." The Test Advantage sells a large practice library you work through on your own, with an AI tutor, Mr. O, for questions.
The second difference is where questions come from. The Test Advantage groups questions by the SAT test date they were rebuilt from. For example, the October 2026 Math bank has 106 questions from that test, sorted by domain, skill and difficulty. The Skool page does not say where its drill questions come from.
Which should you choose?
- Choose The 1550+ Formula if you are near 1500, you want a coach to watch your progress each week, and the 14-day refund lets you test that fit.
- Choose The Test Advantage if you want many real-test practice questions for both sections, adaptive section tests, and a lower monthly price.
- Use both if your budget allows. A coach can tell you what to fix. A question bank gives you the volume to fix it.
Comparing more options? Read OnePrep vs The Test Advantage, our Bedrock review, whether Khan Academy is enough, and our PsychSAT review.
How do you try The Test Advantage for free?
A free account needs no card. It includes:
- One full-length adaptive test with a likely score range.
- The June 2026 Reading and Writing Question Bank, 230 questions with a video for each.
- Targeted Practice and a weekly study plan.
- 5 sample questions from any test in our practice test catalog, with no account at all.
Create your free account and take one adaptive test. Then compare your score report with what a coach would give you. When you want all 43 banks and 34 adaptive tests, see Premium plans.
How we built this page
We read The 1550+ Formula's Skool page, James Lu's free SAT Prep group page and his Skool profile on October 13, 2026, and quote only what they said. James Lu did not review this page. The Test Advantage facts come from its live pricing page and database. All facts verified 2026-10-13.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the 1550 Formula?
The 1550+ Formula is a paid SAT prep community on Skool owned by James Lu. Its page calls it the fastest path for serious students to get a 1550 or higher SAT score and lists weekly 1:1 time with James, 18 practice tests, AI-driven drills and 24/7 community help.
How much does the 1550 Formula cost?
On October 13, 2026, its Skool page showed 99 dollars a month. The page also offered a 14-day full refund. It did not show a yearly price in its visible text, so check the price at checkout.
Does the 1550 Formula have a refund?
Yes. The Skool page said you can try it 100% risk-free for 14 days, with a full refund if you are not blown away.
Is there a free version of the 1550 Formula?
James Lu runs a separate free Skool group called SAT Prep, described as Learn SAT Desmos and Grammar. Its page lists a full-length practice test and timed walkthroughs of James taking the Bluebook tests.
What is the difference between the 1550 Formula and The Test Advantage?
The 1550+ Formula sells coaching and a community, with weekly 1:1 time with James, for 99 dollars a month. The Test Advantage is a practice platform with 43 question banks grouped by SAT test month and 34 adaptive section tests, for 39.99 dollars a month or 250 dollars a year.
Who is the 1550 Formula for?
Its page names students stuck in a plateau who want to break into the 1500s, parents tired of generic tutoring, and high achievers aiming for top colleges.